Voltage Drop

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Mr. Jones

Voltage Drop

Post by Mr. Jones »

I have a post dated 4/4/14 which explains the problem my truck has.Today I started checking the voltage from battery(12.59)to solenoid(12.20)to ignition(12.9)to coil(5.97)At the coil I took a reading with key on,from the + to - posts.I'm not sure if thats the correct method.If that's wrong then what's the right way.Also at the solenoid I removed all the hot side wires and cleaned with. some 150 sandpaper,same at the ignition and snugged up the nuts.
Still haven't figured out the ohm business yet.The multimeter I posted on 4/14 is toast,I'm now using the Harbour Fraight cen-tech.I have no experience at electrical trouble shooting.
I would like to thank everyone who took the time to answer my first two posts.Most of what I read is way over my head.
Thanks Again,
Dan

Something else I just thought of. 4/11/06 Hunt Electrical Co. here in Kansas City replaced the 55 amp alternator with 95 amp 3g Ford alt. and did away with voltage regulator.How do I check that if it doesn't run?
F7BIGJOB
Location: West Greenwich, Rhode Island & Providence Plantations
United States of America

Re: Voltage Drop

Post by F7BIGJOB »