Dual exhaust advice needed.

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Oregoon

Dual exhaust advice needed.

Post by Oregoon »

Hey all!

Go the 240 in my '66 running well and it's time to improve the exhaust system. I have a set of EFI headers from a 300, and the local shop wants around $300 to bend up a set of pipes that will discharge in front of my rear wheels. While that's indeed affordable, I just bought a welder and am thinking of doing the job myself. Tubing is cheap, and comes in a staggering array of pre-bent shapes and sizes, and so far I've done everything on this truck myself.

Regardless of who does it, what's a good recipie for a healthy dual exhaust? What diameter pipe? Do you run a balance tube? Any muffler recommendations?

I've never done duals on an inline-six before, so feel free to school me.

Thanks in advance.
Working on a '66 F100 with a '71 240 and the original three-on-the-tree...
ThinLizzy13
United States of America

Re: Dual exhaust advice needed.

Post by ThinLizzy13 »

Ditto on this. I wanna do the same thing to the 300 on my 66

:popcorn:
'63 F100 223 3OT
‘20 F150 XL
Hunter's 64
United States of America

Post by Hunter's 64 »

Shoudn't be much to it. come from exhaust manifold/ header to muffler (1) inlet (2) outlets then use bends to run out the sides :2cents:

Danny
Toyz
United States of America

Post by Toyz »

Buy an X-pipe, find the distance calculation on the internet, then purchase the straight runs and bends, fit and weld; or clamp with wide base clamps. The X-pipe is definitely worth the cost and effort when installed correctly, IMO.
Paul
The Ford Orphanage
Life's too short for boring vehicles!
My quest to develop a universal solvent is held up by the lack of a storage container.
Paul
foodstick

Post by foodstick »