Cast iron rust removal

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

jercasche
United States of America

Cast iron rust removal

Post by jercasche »

Any tips on removing rust from cast iron to prep for paint? I have a bell housing, master cylinder, and exhaust manifold to paint. I have 1300 deg paint for the manifold. I finally found a 3speed bell :mrgreen:
1964 F-100 SWB, 292,
IC front suspension
No-Limit Fatbar 4 link
full rewire complete
T-5 transmission
Front Tilt Hood
808F250
United States of America

Re: Cast iron rust removal

Post by 808F250 »

If you're without a blast cabinet, you can wire brush the parts good and then wipe them down with a rust inhibitor like Rust-mort or corroseal before you paint.
If it's got tits or tires, You're gona have problems
banjopicker66

Post by banjopicker66 »

You might try electrolysis. Worked nicely on some cast iron cooking pans for me once.
charliemccraney

Post by charliemccraney »

Have it hot tanked, wash it with soap and water when you get it home, dry it as quickly as possible, and you're ready.
Lawrenceville, Ga
1961 F100 Unibody
318 Y-block (292 +.070 bore, +.170 stroke), FMS T5-Z w/Mustang 10.5" diaphragm clutch.
64 f100

Post by 64 f100 »