Coil votage

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Mellvis

Coil votage

Post by Mellvis »

After checking my ignition system I found that I have a full 12 volts at the coil power wire. All I've been reading on here is that it should be 8 volts. As near as I can tell everything is original, even the color of the power wire. I've been driving it this way since 2010. This is the second set of points and condenser since then. Seems to me too much voltage would tear up the coil rather than points and condenser, right? Would it simply be easier to put in an old style resister to correct the voltage?
1965 F100 "Papaw's Pride"

"So I'm working on a cistern inlet valve and the guy hands me a lock nut wrench! I was like 'What is this, a drainpipe slipknot!'" -Flo
Blackwaterforge

Re: Coil votage

Post by Blackwaterforge »

Did you check it with the engine running?
You should 8volts when it's running.
If it cain't be fixed with a sledge hammer it must be an electrical problem!
64 f100

Post by 64 f100 »

Unless someone has put an aftermarket col on the truck with built in resistance you need 8 volts at the coil. As to jumping in a resistor that would be up to you. The resistance wires sometimes go bad as do all resistors at times. As to running the coil for any length of time with 12 volts. Eventually if not already will cause the coil to run hot which will affect the output of the coil. May not go totally bad for a long time. Could cause some starting problems at times and efficiency problems also. As to burning the points , I have no idea if the coil voltage may affect points, but bad condenser , etc. may have an affect. I eliminate points entirely on all my trucks . Huge benefit to electronic ignition. Run much better with a petronix .

Rich
1961 F350
1964 Galaxie convertable
1964 flairside, style side, and longbed
1965 Ranger, and shortbed
1966 long bed, and shortbed
A few parts trucks also