Jumping in! 65 F100 2wd to 76 F250 4X4 frame swap questions

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

STRANGE JAYMZ
United States of America

Jumping in! 65 F100 2wd to 76 F250 4X4 frame swap questions

Post by STRANGE JAYMZ »

Hi all, just found this site and its great! I've been doing searches and gathering parts for 2 years or so (getting great info and at the same time more confused! how does that work?) and know my cab will bolt up and there will be a gap between the bed and cab. That being said both are LWB trucks, the body and bed are mocked up. Rear wheels are centered as best as I can get them, but all I have to move it is 2" forward instead of the 4" that I should have to get a 1 1/2" gap!?!?!?! What should the correct gap be? One the other hand it does look like the front wheels look 2" forward IMHO BUT on every 4X4 pic I've seen this is normal, but not on the 2wd!?!?!? I plan on putting 33-12.5s on it with a small lift. It almost seems easier/safer to move the rear springs forward instead of cutting the frame.......Opinions? Next observation, on the front bumper I took off the 76 bumper to frame brackets put them on the 65 bumper and bolted it to the frame, it all bolted up.....but its too far forward with a gap. The 65's frame horns have a lip on front that has the holes so you mount the bumper to the frame, should I weld up frame horns or shorten the brackets? My body man is getting itchy to paint the cab and I want to modify the frame, sandblast and powdercoat by the time he gets done. Also since it was 2wd and I've now got a C6, I'm gonna need a new C6 tranny hump, All I've seen on Ebay are the 4 speed 4X4 humps, are they the same as the C6 humps with just 2 holes instead of just one? Thanks in advance, I've had this truck since I was 20 (43 now) and finally at a point in life where my childhood vision is taking shape and I'm as giddy as a little school girl!!!!