Master Cylinder Help

Got a helpful tip or trick related to your slick? Please share...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

agjames96
United States of America

Master Cylinder Help

Post by agjames96 »

Admittedly, I am no mechanic, but I replaced the Master Cylinder myself and then paid a shop to replace everything else related to the brake system. Shop cannot get full pressure in system and think that the problem is the master.

The master install was self explanatory, except for a little rubber disc. I placed it into the hole where the pedal shaft contacts the piston. Was that correct? The master was bench bled before mounting and bled after mounting several times as well.

Please help... this is about the only thing between getting the truck roadworthy. Thanks in advance.
1964 F100 Flareside, all original w/ Y Block 292
charliemccraney

Re: Master Cylinder Help

Post by charliemccraney »

I've never heard of placing anything between the pushrod and piston, so that rubber disk is probably not right. Bench bleeding was good. It is possible that the master cylinder is bad out of the box. Incorrect adjustment of drum brakes can make it seem as though the system is not working properly. If they are a rather typical modern shop, I suppose it is possible they don't know how to do that, though many newer vehicles do still have drums on the rear.
Lawrenceville, Ga
1961 F100 Unibody
318 Y-block (292 +.070 bore, +.170 stroke), FMS T5-Z w/Mustang 10.5" diaphragm clutch.
agjames96
United States of America

Post by agjames96 »

Just picked it up and there is no pressure at all. Pedal goes to the floor. it seems like there is a lot of movement before the rod even engages the piston. Are there different length rods for these trucks that maybe got switched out when someone replaced the master before?

I bought a new master and will post a pic of the piston hole and disc. It looks different than pics on Autozone's website. I bought both of mine at O'Reilly.
charliemccraney