rebuilt carburetor question

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

willy3486

rebuilt carburetor question

Post by willy3486 »

Can someone explain this? Why is it I can go into auto zombies,puke boys or some other parts store and buy a rebuild kit for about 20 bucks but a rebuilt carb on exchange is around 200? :shock: I am no mechanic by far but I had a buddy years ago who worked in a car lot to rebuild mine. I went to where he worked and it only took about an hour. It ran perfect for years after that. Now I am thinking about finding a different carb for mine. I can't get it set right ,it has a leak I can't find and adjusting the set screws doesn't change anything., I would prefer to pay extra to get a rebuilt one but can't afford it. Why the difference in cost between a rebuild kit and one exchanged? :evil: I guess I am evilbay bound for one.
ICEMAN6166
Poland

Post by ICEMAN6166 »

rebuilt carbs have many other things done that are not available in the kit.
for instance, the butterfly rods and the bores they go thru are fixed so as not to leak air, if the rod is loose or as i have seen many times, way loose, setting the carb can be a real pain.
you also do not get an assortment of jets, idle mixture screws, or power valves.so your stuck with whats in the kit and we all know once you open the kit its yours forever even though it does not tell you which different pieces are in or not in it.

i was told by my friend who owns a car-quest that their Anchorage warehouse does not even stock carbs at all any more , so i have to pay extra shipping now to get one from outside.
1966 F250 4x4
1964 Rambler Ambassador 990
Rest in peace departed Slick family members
Cam Milam
Lesley Ferguson
Steve Lopes
John Sutton
winr

Post by winr »

Hi Willy.

What kind of carb is it ??

Richard.
All your Slicks are belong to us
Slick Fan

Post by Slick Fan »