Dirty work

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Uncle Skip
United States of America

Dirty work

Post by Uncle Skip »

I've been putting this off for a couple of years now, so I finally nutted up and replaced the front spring hanger bushings on Nadine.
Don't let anyone fool you.
This is an ugly job even if you have the core support off.
I imagine its worse (if it can be worse) if you're just working under the truck.
I jacked up the frame and let the front axle down with the jack until it took the pressure off the spring hanger, drove out the bolt and pushed the hangers back on the spring.
As for removing the old bushing, the best thing I can tell you is to peel it like an onion. One layer at a time.
Knock out the center sleeve, remove what rubber is left and then you struggle with the outer bushing shell.
I had a friend cut me a sleeve with a 3/8" hole in it just a little smaller than the diameter of the new bushing to drive out the outer sleeve.
When you put things back together, be sure to sand out the hole where the bushing goes in the frame until it's clean.
I brushed the outside of the new bushing and coated the bushing and hole with never-seize.
If you have some old sockets and extensions you don't mind ruining you might find one to drive the new bushing back in. I used an old 1/2" drive with a 12 point 11/16 socket that fits the outside shell of the new bushing and hammered it all back in place. Didn't hurt the socket, but it pretty well crapped out the extension.
Pretty much done at the cost of a couple of bruises and blood blisters, but its done and it needed to be done.
I'll post pictures later this evening.
Now the rear spring hanger bushings that mount to the frame. The springs already have new bushings. Film at 11.
U@ss
I'm not arguing with you. I'm just explaining why I'm right.
Pardon me. Does your deaug bite?
Alan Mclennan
Australia

Post by Alan Mclennan »