help with 302 and 5spd

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

jbolivar

help with 302 and 5spd

Post by jbolivar »

Hello,

I'm new to the 61 - 66 f100 world. I've just bought a 64 with a 70 mustang 302 and was thinking about a newer mustang 5spd. Can anyone tell me what year and model would be best to pull one from?

Thanks, Jim
ras4434

Post by ras4434 »

I can not help you withthe trannie question but want to WELCOME YOU TO THE CLUB. I am sure some of the "stang" guys will chime in soon.
lincolnslick

Post by lincolnslick »

if you want sports car shifting a t5 is for you but if you want a truck 5 spd look for one out of an 88 thru 94 f150
nothing like the smell of tiresmoke in the morning
douglloyd

Post by douglloyd »

Cool. What else do you have to change out? Do you need mount adapters? Do they bolt straight up to a 70's 302 bellhousing? How well does the shifter line up with the cab floor?

If you go with the later rear end, what kind of ratios work best?

OK...I'll hush now. Y'all went and got me flustered<g> But with gas prices climbing again, this sounds pretty good. Pictures would be great.

Doug
Greg D
United States of America

Post by Greg D »

Gear ratio will depend on how you intend to use the truck, about 3:50s would be good for all around use. I would hit the salvage yard and just take everything, Bellhousing, Flywheel clutch setup and all, you might as well grab the driveshaft too so you will have the yoke cause you will likely have to have one made. You will have to check on balancing on your particular 302, I seem to remember Ford changing the balancing when they went to the new firing order about 82, there are Mustang suppliers out there who have 5 speed swap kits for older stangs that may be able to help you out with the flywheel.
1964 F 100 - I am going to do "something" with it.......

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15942

1987 Mustang LX Convertible, 2.3 Auto - cruiser.