Sully's 1964 Project

A place just for our project & build threads.

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

sully5

Sully's 1964 Project

Post by sully5 »

Ok, so I'm new here. I'm new to Ford trucks. I traded a boat I hated for this 64 F100 shorty. No significant rust but as a farm truck, it had dents in every panel. Originally a 223 L6 with 3 speed on the column.

Here's the way I got it.

Last edited by sully5 on February 12, 2012, 10:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
If thou bleedest not, thou workest not. - Hezekiah 2:12
abrasilian

Post by abrasilian »

welcome to slick60's you will find everyone here really cool and helpful. nice truck man! nice photo shop on that girls face. lol
sully5

Post by sully5 »

What started out as a scuff and paint turned into an all out restoration. The dents were everywhere and the "old man tan" made it easy to miss a lot of them. So . . . into the fray.

Down to bare metal!

Frame disasembly:

The dash had been hacked for a modern radio. Gonna build a console so I welded in a piece of metal and smoothed.

We discovered some small rust holes in the floor so we cut some of the floor out and installed some new steel. The cab supports were marginal so the were replaced as well.

My daughter will be driving the truck and if a little freaked out about the tank behind the seat so we're relocating the tank. The hole has been welded up and smoothed.

sully5

Post by sully5 »

Welded up the trim holes and straightening the hood.

Smoothing the tailgate and relocated the handle to the inside.

Welded up the rear taillight panel seam.

Something heavy had fallen on the side of the cab during the trucks illustrious farm duty. Pulling the dent out:

sully5

Post by sully5 »

Decided to go low. Went ahead and notched the frame front and back. I boxed the front notch because the engine weight rests right there.

sully5

Post by sully5 »

Sandblasted the frame and painted it satin black.

sully5

Post by sully5 »

Decided on the Toyota steering box swap.