Newbie and Battery Question

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Conquistahore

Newbie and Battery Question

Post by Conquistahore »

Hey Gang,

I'm new to Slick ownership and new to the Forum. I purchased a show condition '66 Ford F100 Styleside Ranger last month and have encountered my first issue. While cold starting on Saturday (in 40 degree weather) the engine cut off after a choppy 2 minute run...and then I flooded the carb trying to restart. It usually starts up and runs fine for me. I couldn't get it restarted and thought it might be out of fuel. I topped the tank and tried again on Sunday (with a jump assist) and still no go. It clicks but doesn't crank. I did notice that one of the battery cells spilled over acid onto the ground. The lights and radio work but the engine doesn't turn. I'm guessing I need a new battery? Any ideas? What's the best battery for a '67 352 V8? Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Conquistahore

Re: Newbie and Battery Question

Post by Conquistahore »

Toyz
United States of America

Post by Toyz »

It's not unusual to be unable to start with questionable jumper cables. Have the battery charged and tested, then check and clean your connections. Be cautious around the battery for several reasons. If you have "emergency" clamp-on ends, get rid of them. Quality cables are cheap. It's kinda unusual for a newer style maintenance-free battery to spill acid without damage. Have you tried to turn the engine by hand to eliminate the possibility of liquid in the cylinders, or an engaged starter?