New here with some familiar dillemas. . .

The place to talk Slicks. All we ask is that discussion has something to do with slicks...

Moderators: Kid, Casey 65

Motocentro

New here with some familiar dillemas. . .

Post by Motocentro »

Hello all!

Really glad to find this site - I've been bleeding blue for 15 years and I have wanted a Slick (65-66, specifically) for nearly as long. Never liked a truck like I love these.

From what I understand my little slicker was bought and sold at least once @ SS, so when I get a picture posted let me know if you remember her.

OK

Right now I am running the original 240 with 87K and it has started getting cold outside . . . Ooohh, she hates the cold.

I dig the 6 and all, but I grew up on the SBF, and I have a healthy respect for the FE. I've never driven in a 302 powered truck, so I don't know how well it translates acrosplatforms. I now live deep in the city (yeah, yeah, bring it) and a SB slick is great for the light lifting I do. Of course I want to warm up the engine a little bit and I am having some misgivings about the 240 and thinking that a 302 might better suit my driving style - Straight city, and not that suburban crap that most people think is city. I'm talking block to block, lots of sitting. Mileage is important, but I don't drive far as I live 5 blocks (10 minute walk) from where I work and it's neighborhood driving. Heck, I think I warm it up more than twice as long as it takes to drive it.

Whew!

I want something that scoots, has the potential for good gas mileage and won't promote too many headaches. Can I get a straight six cam hot enough to make the 240 rev and squirt in and out of traffic like I need to?

What do you think? Of course you know what the cats at Ford6 think. . .

(Of course, disks up front, sways, new shocks and improved windshield wiping are happening regardless of the engine situation).
My new signature.
Combat_Medic

Post by Combat_Medic »